Dracula Rises Again. Yes, Again. Yawn.

NBC is taking another crack at a Dracula TV series, which means the same old stuff we’ve seen in every other iteration of the story: Nobleman with a secret in London, reincarnated loves, yadda-yadda-yadda.

Jonathan Rhys Meyers (Henry VIII, The Tudors) seems like a particularly bloodless Dracula, so I suppose that’s something different. But not in a good way. Like 98 percent of modern remakes, this is supposed to hew closer to the source material (Bram Stoker’s 1897 novel), but Darwin and electricity and a secret identity as “Alexander Grayson” were not in the book. So is the peacock network attempting to attract the prepubescent girls who devoured all things Twilight?

Anyway, here’s a “sizzle reel” that’s supposed to get people excited about the show. (Wake me when it’s over.)

Yep, that’s right, I hate it already. Sue me. But I would suggest that since NBC is burying it on Fridays at 10 p.m., even the network doesn’t expect much here. You can sue me, but you can’t be surprised.

(BTW, Stoker’s novel is actually very, very good, and does not benefit from being adapting for modern audiences.)