Why Bill Murray Finally Agreed to a ‘Ghostbusters’ Redux

busters01Just about everyone was floored by the news that Bill Murray had agreed to appear in the so-called “all-female” Ghostbusters reboot after so many decades of refusing to associate himself with any of the long-mooted attempts at making a third film in the franchise.

Well, newsflash folks: Murray has not only agreed to make a cameo in the new flick — he has already shot his role (as a ghost debunker). So there’s no turning back now.

Vulture asked Murray why he did it, and he replied:

“I thought about it for a very long time. Like, many, many months. No, that’s not right. I was seriously thinking about this for years, really… It kept eating at me, and I really respect those girls. And then I started to feel like if I didn’t do this movie, maybe somebody would write a bad review or something, thinking there was some sort of disapproval [on my part].”

busters02

“He slimed me.”


Murray said the second film soured him on the franchise and playing Peter Venkman again, but he said he enjoyed working with Paul Feig, Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy:

“You know, they were incredibly nice to ask me, and I really enjoyed being there. They have such a jolly group, and they are going to have great success with this project. I didn’t want to overshadow [them] or anything, and I feel really good about it. I like those girls a lot. I mean, I really do. They are tough to say no to. And Paul is a real nice fellow.”

The reboot stars Wiig as Erin Gilbert; Kate McKinnon as Jillian Holtzmann; McCarthy as Abby Yates; Leslie Jones as Patty Tolan; Andy Garcia as the Mayor of New York City; Michael K. Williams as Hawkins; Matt Walsh as Rourke; Chris Hemsworth as the Ghostbusters’ secretary; and Neil Casey as the villain. Dan Aykroyd is also set to have a cameo in the film.

The movie will be released on July 16, 2016.

Oh, yeah? Sez you!

