‘Time Heist’ Goes Retro

THretroArtist Stuart Manning is responsible for this week’s blast-from- the- past style poster to promote DOCTOR WHO’s new episode, “Time Heist.”

Manning explained to Britain’s Radio Times what he was going for:

Slinky Miss Delphox was the starting point for this one. Keeley Hawes‘ publicity pic had such a great silhouette that I immediately wanted to include it. I did a poster for MAD MEN a couple of years back, using a similar treatment on Joan, and the idea stuck in my head.

The other influence was the heist movie inspiration of the episode itself, which got me thinking about things like Ocean’s 11 and the Rat Pack. In my head, this a sorta special Saul Bass-style title sequence for the episode, playing alongside a Henry Mancini sax-and-harpsichord arrangement of the DOCTOR WHO theme.

I’m not entirely sure I get a “Saul Bass” vibe from this — his work always seemed more block-y and hard-edged to me, but whatever. I’m not the artist.

DOCTOR WHO premieres tonight at 9 o’clock on BBC America.
Oh, yeah? Sez you!

