A Final Preview of ‘The Time of the Doctor’

Doctor WhoTomorrow is the big day: Matt Smith’s last adventure as the star of DOCTOR WHO. During tomorrow’s Christmas special, “The Time of the Doctor,” the 11th Doctor will cede the show to the 12th incarnation of the Time Lord, to be played by Peter Capaldi.

So, just in case you need a little more convincing, here are the big guns of the series — Smith, executive producer Steven Moffat, and co-star Jenna Coleman — with some hints of what to expect from the story, which just happens to be the 800th episode in the history of the series.

Steven Moffat says:

“It’s his final battle and he’s been fighting it for a while. The Doctor is facing the joint challenge of a mysterious event in space that has summoned lots of aliens to one place and helping Clara cook Christmas dinner. There are also elements from every series of Matt’s Doctor, which will come to a head in this special. Things that we’ve laid down for years are going to be paid off.”

Smith describes his final story:

“The Christmas special for me is a bittersweet episode because I’m leaving, but Steven has written a brilliant, adventurous, funny episode and I’m really thrilled with it. It feels wonderfully Christmas-y.

“I think it’s good for the Doctor to go out with a bang, a crash and a wallop. I’m pleased it’s really funny and mad. When I got to the last 20 pages and it was quite a hard read for me, but I hope it’s going to be a belter.

timedoc02“We’ve got a great director in Jamie Payne and some really lovely double-hand stuff with me and Jenna. Steven’s managed to tie in plot points and narratives that have been threaded through over years and I think that’s ingenious.

“With DOCTOR WHO you’re always looking back and forward at the same time, because you tend to be jumping around. I don’t want to give too much away, but obviously when you look at my tenure over the last four years, there are stories and plot points and villains in there that are particular to my Doctor and I think he’s got to face all that.”

Coleman adds:

“I think there had to be a sense of mystery last year to make the plot work. What’s really interesting is that it does feel like we’re starting again and we get to see her home life as well as her life with the Doctor.”

Oh, yeah? Sez you!

