It’s Official: Elizabeth Olsen Is the Scarlet Witch

olsenMarvel Studios has confirmed that Elizabeth Olsen is joining the cast of Avengers: Age of Ultron as the Scarlet Witch. The Witch’s twin brother, Quicksilver, will be played by Aaron Taylor-Johnson — better known to comics fans as homemade hero Dave Lizewski of Kick-Ass.

In an interesting bit of serendipity, Olsen and Johnson play husband-and-wife in the upcoming Godzilla reboot, but they figure to spend more time sharing scenes as superpowered siblings in Joss Whedon’s sequel to the third-highest-grossing film of all time. Pietro is known for being… er, enthusiastically protective of sister Wanda.

A respected actress known for playing psychologically damaged young women in movies like Martha Marcy May Marlene as well as the Oldboy reboot, Olsen says she is looking forward to playing with Wanda’s complex psychology:

“I hung out with Mr. Whedon recently. I’m really excited about this movie. I’m so excited about Scarlet Witch. I have had so much fun reading all about her and I am like learning new words that I had to look up on Wikipedia. I’m really enjoying it. I just love Scarlet Witch. I love her.

“It’s so funny because I’m often talking about all these psychologically damaged people, but when you talk about Scarlet Witch… she is a messed up lady. She has got more shit to deal with than anybody else I know. I’m excited to figure out what’s appropriate to use for her, because there’s so much material from all of these decades, and we’re going to tell this one story. So to be able to choose what you’re going to bring into it from all of this abundance, it’s really fun.”

Also, Olsen did not grow up reading comic books, so she isn’t going to try to pretend to be a geek goddess:

“I never read comic books. Comic books were always my brother’s thing and he collected comic books every week of his life since he was 7. So he is who I go to when I have meetings about things that have to do with comic books. And now I’m going to know a little bit more about it, about my brother and about the world.”

The Avengers: Age of Ultron begins filming early next year for a May 1, 2015 release.

Oh, yeah? Sez you!

