Is the Fifth Appearing in the Fiftieth?

timecrashErstwhile Fifth Doctor Peter Davison made a few cryptic remarks this week that have folks speculating hoping he will make a surprise appearance in “The Day of the Doctor,” DOCTOR WHO’s 50th anniversary story. And then he said something not-so-cryptic.

According to a website called Female First, Davison said:

“I’m making an appearance somewhere over that period of time but I can’t reveal in what. I can’t reveal anything specific about it. I’m not allowed to. It is a big year for the show and we’re all doing our bit for it. Trust me.”

Well, when a Doctor asks you to trust him, it’s a good idea to trust him. Even though the Doctor lies. Also: Run.

What got the ball rolling this past week was Davison’s appearance on a morning show called Daybreak, on whch he  said:

“I’ve heard lots of rumors, none of which I’m allowed to tell you anything about. I’m privy to them, actually. I have got a copy of the script which has got my name embossed across it. So, it’s top secret, but there’s other stuff — lots of other things that are going on that people should keep their eye open for around the 50th anniversary special.”

timecrash2Why would he get an embossed copy of the script if he’s not in it? Inscribing an actor’s name on a script nowadays is often done to discourage the leaking of pages, so it’s not necessarily important that the production team went to the effort of embossing his script; it’s important that they gave him one!

Factoring in what Davison said above, as well as his taking pains to mention that there will be “other things” going on around the 50th…. It’s feasible he could be talking about appearing as the Doctor in something other than “The Day of the Doctor.” A prequel sequence, perhaps? (Remember that rumors suggest Paul McGann was shooting regeneration or some kind of “handover” sequence depicting the Eighth Doctor turning into the Hurt Doctor.)

Now I want to know more than ever what’s going on!!

2 thoughts on “Is the Fifth Appearing in the Fiftieth?

  1. I’m more excited about the potenital McGann tie in. I hate that TV movie, but I loved him as The Doctor. Obviously there’s the link between Classic and TV Movie. Now my Whoniverse demands a direct bridge to NuWho and all will be right with the world.

    Like

Oh, yeah? Sez you!

