Jim Carrey ‘Cannot Support’ the Violence of ‘Kick-Ass 2’

carreyThis past weekend, Jim Carrey announced that he cannot “support” Kick-Ass 2, the comic book movie in which he plays a major role as Col. Stars and Stripes, because of the level of violence in the flick. (See the NSFW R-rated red-band trailer here.)

This change of heart came about following the Sandy Hook massacre, according to Carrey, who Tweeted:

I did Kickass a month b4 Sandy Hook and now in all good conscience I cannot support that level of violence.

I meant to say my apologies to others involve with the film. I am not ashamed of it but recent events have caused a change in my heart.

Now, Carrey is totally within his rights to change his mind about how he feels about a job, and his position as a Hollywood gun-control advocate is fairly well-known.

However, I hope he realizes that Kick-Ass 2 is a work of fiction that has nothing whatsoever to do with the real world. I also wonder if he’s putting his money where his newfound enlightenment is and donating his entire salary from the project he “cannot support” to a Sandy Hook victims fund or anti-gun violence group?

I would respect that a heckuva lot more than his refusal to promote the film.

Oh, yeah? Sez you!

