HEROES REBORN Won’t Save the Cheerleader

claireCreator Tim Kring is planning to bring back HEROES as a 13-episode series called HEROES REBORN, and it appears that at least one star of the original NBC run will not be returning: Hayden Panetteriere as unkillable cheerleader Claire Bennet.

Hayden told Cosmopolitan:

“Well, it was a shock to me, and, in fact, I believe I became privy to that through my cousin. She sent me a text message and told me about it, and, I mean, we had nothing, nothing to do with it; it will definitely be interesting to see how they reinvent that.”

“I think it’s a whole new set of characters. Who knows? It’s a little bit of an interesting feeling because you go, ‘That was our show, our home, our family,’ something that we had a major part in creating as well, and, I mean, I hope that they don’t have somebody else playing our characters, that would be a little dagger in the heart. But, you never know. I wish them success in it, for sure.”

Hayden, of course, currently stars in the ABC series NASHVILLE.

There’s no word on any other potential returning characters or storylines, but there will be an online prequel series, dubbed HEROES REBORN: DIGITAL SERIES on NBC.com.

I have said before that Kring shouldn’t even bother with a revival if he cannot convince Hayden to return — but maybe there never was a spot for her anyway. An all-new group (with a better dynamic) could be fun, but I’d like to see a least a couple of familiar faces, if only to kick off the miniseries.

Here is the teaser video about the project:

Oh, yeah? Sez you!

